top of page

FA Charter Standard

Launched in 2001, The FA Charter Standard Programme supported by McDonald’s is The FA’s accreditation scheme for grassroots clubs and leagues.

Its goal is to raise standards in grassroots football, support the development of clubs and leagues, recognising and rewarding them for their commitment and achievements.

With this in mind, The FA Charter Standard accreditation is awarded to clubs and leagues rigorously adjudged to be well-run and sustainable – and which prioritise child protection, quality coaching and implementation of the Respect programme.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs:

  • FA Charter Standard Club for youth and adult clubs: the entry-level accreditation

  • FA Charter Standard Development Club: for clubs clearly enhancing the quality and scope of their football offering

  • FA Charter Standard Community Club: acknowledging the most advanced level of club development and football provision.

For clubs who have FA Charter Standard accreditation, the challenge is to progress to the next level or to maintain that level. For clubs without FA Charter Standard status, the scheme provides aspirational points on its development journey.

There is only one accreditation level for leagues: FA Charter Standard League.

Overall, FA Charter Standard status is a clear demonstration to all parents, sponsors and the public, that a club (or league):

  • Is well-organised, safe and offers opportunities for all

  • Has FA-qualified coaches as standard

  • Adheres to FA Respect Policies and Codes of Conduct

  • Prioritises Child Welfare

  • Maintains appropriate levels of discipline

  • Has access to the County FA and FA regional workforces

  • Can use the coveted ‘Three Lions’ FA crest on its marketing and business materials.

bottom of page